Wednesday, August 13, 2014

4 Receive the Fields Medal, Including the Prize’s First Female Medalist

The Chronicle of Higher Education
August 13th, 2014

Four scholars have received the Fields Medal for 2014, including the first female medalist in the 78-year history of the prestigious mathematics prize, the International Mathematical Union has announced. The union presents the medal every four years to up to four mathematicians age 40 or younger to recognize outstanding existing work and to foster “the promise of future achievement.”
The 2014 prizes were awarded on Wednesday during the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians, being held this year in Seoul, South Korea.
The medalists for 2014 are:

No comments:

Post a Comment

To eliminate spam comments at restricted to registered users. Additionally, all posts are moderated to further prevent spam and off topic discourse. We strive to post all on topic comments.